How to stay profitable in a high-CAC world

4 strategies for staying profitable as your CAC increases

Read time: 2 minutes

Hey!

Sam here 👋

Have you ever heard the phrase Whoever can spend the most money to acquire a customer wins?

It was coined by Dan Kennedy, one of the marketing OGs, and is often quoted by Russel Brunson.

It took me a while to wrap my head around it.

After all, the best marketers are the ones who are able to reduce CAC, right?

Not so fast…

When I began my journey into the startup world, I worked as a performance marketer.

My goal was to optimize and reduce acquisition costs as much as possible.

And it worked like a charm — for a while.

But once I wanted to scale, I hit a wall.

I started to struggle to keep our costs low.

And worse…

Even when we hit our CAC targets, we ended up losing customers shortly after because of high churn.

Why?

Because I was optimizing for the wrong metric.

And more importantly, I was asking the wrong question.

But then, it hit me.

What if instead of fighting to keep my CAC low, I started focusing on profitability (even if it meant spending more)?

A “low” CAC can’t stay low forever.

As you scale, you will start reaching colder audiences who are not familiar with your product.

As a result, you’ll also need to test different messaging, creatives, and landing pages.

What got you here, won’t get you there.

Instead of fighting it, get ahead of it.

If you have forwarded this email, join our community for $0 by clicking below: 

Ideas to stay profitable while your CAC rises

🎁 Supercharge your offers

  • Create bundles

  • Offer free shipping

  • Give discounts for bulk orders

  • Surprise your customers with gifts

🏆 Optimize pricing tiers

  • Offer different plans to overcome different needs.

    Learn from Zoom’s tiered pricing. This attracts customers across different segments, helping to improve acquisition costs. Don’t create a one-size-fits-all pricing model.

💰 Maximize your LTV

  • Switch to a subscription model

  • Leverage organic channels to bring down blended CAC

⏫ Focus on upselling and cross-selling

  • Identify opportunities to up-sell to a higher-priced product or cross-sell complementary products/services.

    For example, a gym may offer personal training sessions or nutritional support to new members.

Remember: it’s not about spending less, it’s about spending strategically and becoming profitable.

That's all for now!

Thanks for reading! If you have any questions or feedback, just hit reply.

I read every email.

If you found this helpful, please forward this email to 1 friend or colleague. They'll appreciate you, and you'll help grow the community.

Whenever you’re ready, there are 2 ways I can help you:

  • Work with me 1:1 to help you build the growth engine needed to scale your business to $10MM ARR. Let’s chat.

  • Get unstuck in 60 minutes in a high-intensity session to solve a specific challenge. Book a strategy call.

Until next time 👋

Sam